I Remember

I remember the end of the world

Chaotic “hours” where only minutes passed

Clenching carpet, struggling breaths

The phone calls that brought no relief

I remember spilling secrets

Guilty of spreading their venom

Seeing them cover up their heart’s ache

Learning to bottle up what hurt most

I remember my friends

Willing to take me in

Knowing when something was wrong

Begging me to speak

I remember not being able to forget

The terrible truth behind every lie

Hope, loss, and no family

Wondering if I was a burden

I remember when God stepped in

Picking up what fell to pieces

Lighting up the darkness

Sticking my family back together

I remember my doubts

Not letting my hopes rise high

Still struggling with the memories

Offering myself only one way to run

I remember living life and letting go.

Kristen Stephens

(Aug. 20, 2009)

Leave a Reply

