Creamy Peanut Butter Brownie (plus a keto version)!

DSC_1566

So there’s this charming bakery in town that combined two heavenly flavors and merged them into one. They call it a peanut butter ganache brownie. I call it true love.

I set out to create my own version of the combo, so I wouldn’t spend all my extra cash. Plus, it’s fun experimenting, ya know. So I took from two recipes online (here and here), that I really must try just as they are…I mean oreo truffle brownies? Heck to the yes. Anyways, I took from these two and added my own ingredients to make it my own. We always make it our own here.

One bite of these brownies will leave you like this kitten. (click the kitten)

Image

Moar! MOOOAAAR! GIMME MOAR!!!

Can’t you just hear yourself now? Crazed, slobbering cutie, you. And they are super simple to make. So grab these ingredients and give it a go! My suggestion is to make them before the family gets home and hide as many as you want in your room. Give them what’s left over. That’s the spirit!

Brownie layer:

1 1/2 sticks butter

2 cups sugar

pinch of salt

1 1/3 cups flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

4 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Peanut butter layer:

2 cups powdered sugar

sprinkle of vanilla extract

2/3 cup peanut butter

6 oz. cream cheese (about 2/3 of one package)

Cream together the butter and sugar thoroughly, until it is nice and smooth. Add in the salt, flour and cocoa and keep on mixing until it’s even. Then add the wet ingredients and, you guessed it, mix some more. Pam a 13″X9″ pan and spread the brownie concoction evenly. Pop them in the oven at 350 for 22 minutes.

While they are baking away, get to work on the peanut butter layer! Heat the cream cheese for about 12 seconds in the microwave (because it’s easier to mix that way). Cream together the cream cheese and peanut butter. Splash in the vanilla extract. Mix in the powdered sugar LITTLE BY LITTLE. This part can get pretty messy. Five paper towels later, I can tell you this from personal experience.

Here are the naked brownies.

After the brownies are out of the oven, spread the peanut butter layer as evenly as you can, perhaps giving the brownies a few minutes to cool before hand. Stick them in the oven for about two more minutes to let the peanut butter layer melt just a bit so you can spread it more evenly when it comes out.

Next comes the worst part. Waiting. Seriously, who can stand it? I tell myself I’ll wait five minutes for the brownies to cool, but I dive in at three. Do what feels right…to the roof of your mouth.

I hope you enjoy these brownies! Let me know what you think of them! If you’re truly evil, pawn them off on your unexpected friends. That’s what I do!

We won’t even ask how many calories are in these, but we’ll get right down to the keto-friendly version instead!

Keto-friendly Peanut Butter Brownie

I have a sweet tooth, which doesn’t leave when I’m on keto. However, instead of damaging my body by gorging on carbs, I like to make up keto-friendly versions of sweets that keep me going. I made these brownies and loved them! Hopefully, they’ll get you through a keto-rut, if ever you should have one.

Brownie layer: 

2 cups flax seed

2 oz. unsweetened baking chocolate squares

2 eggs

1/2 tsp. baking powder

dash/pinch of salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

1/3 cup coconut milk

4 tsp. artificial sweetener

Peanut Butter layer:

5 oz. cream cheese

6 Tbsp. natural peanut butter

1 1/2 cups artificial sweetener

Melt the baking squares and mix it with the flax seed and eggs. Add the baking powder, salt, butter (melted), coconut milk and artificial sweetener of your choice (I use the big package from Great Value). Pam a small baking dish, an 8X8 or 9X9. Spread the mixture as evenly as possible and place in the oven for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.

While that is baking, work on the peanut butter layer (my favorite part)! Heat the cream cheese for about 12 seconds in the microwave, so it’s easier to work with. Mix together the cream cheese, peanut butter and artificial sweetener together, and wait for those brownies to come out of the oven! Once they are out, give them a couple of minutes to cool. Next spread the peanut butter layer on top as evenly as possible. Putting them in the cooling oven for a couple of minutes melts the peanut butter layer, making it easier to spread. I cut mine into as many little pieces as possible, about 25-30!

Each brownie will contain roughly 1.5 carbs that are not fibrous! Doesn’t that make your healthy, keto heart pitter-patter? Let me know what you think of them!

Until next time, keep close and enjoy!

Kristen

Leave a Reply

