Taco Sunday

A few years ago, “Taco Sundays” were a regular thing in my world. My family (mom, dad and brother) would walk next door to Granny and Grandaddy’s house for the best hard-shell tacos this side of Texas. Granny would be standing there at the stove, frying shells and filling them with spiced beef and Grandaddy would be setting the table and getting everyone’s drinks for them as soon as you walked in the door. Over the years, the table-setting of five would expand and shrink as my brother and I grew older. We’d bring our friends, our SOs and, eventually,  a baby popped into the picture (my nephew). Imagine trying to have a conversation over the sound of a bubbly baby in an Exersaucer bounce. It didn’t matter though, because our attention was on him anyways. Who can ignore a happy baby? And now we have two (my niece)! Anyways, things have changed with time and we’re not all able to gather around the same table to enjoy Granny’s tacos and stories and Grandaddy’s wacky sayings, and Taco Sundays have been sorely missed. My husband was graced with the experience, also. So, we’ve decided to keep the tradition, the family, the friends, the memories alive in our home – a Wilson home. Here’s to the good times had and the welcoming of many more!

We plan to try new  taco variations over time. I’ll post as they come!

Taco

 

6 thoughts on “Taco Sunday

  1. Kristen, I want you to fix these famous tacos at my house the next time you come. They look great. I loved your story. Be sure to keep a written copy of these stories. They are great. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

